you're reading...

Near capacity Porsche Carrera Cup Australia grid for Winton Supersprint return

The second round of the 2022 Porsche Paynter Dixon Carrera Cup Australia Championship sees a return for all teams to country Victoria, for the Winton Supersprint. Marking the 131st round to be held in the Championship history since it began in 2003, the traditional cold and wet climate of the Benalla track at this time of year will be sure to provide a mix of changeable conditions for the teams from their last visit in August 2013.

On that occasion, Michael Patrizi won the round, while three different drivers won the three races: Patrizi (Race 1), Shae Davies (Race 2) and Nick Percat the third race. The 3.0km National circuit is unsurprisingly the slowest circuit currently on the 2022 Carrera Cup calendar, as the last recorded average lap speed of 129kph was set in 2013 in the 997 MY11 generation of 911 GT3 Cup car. Expect to see lap records tumble from the get-go in the latest generation 992.

Of the 31 car field entered for the 20-22 May event, only two drivers – Marc Cini and Stephen Grove – were on the grid in 2013 the last time the Championship visited there. Ironically, both had a challenging weekend on that occasion, with each driver failing to score in each session. Ironically, there were more of the current Carrera Cup brigade on the grid when the Championship first debuted at Winton in 2003: that year, Cini, Rodney Jane and Tony Quinn were all present.

Most of the class of 2022 have already done test sessions at Winton, as every Porsche customer squad looks to not only learn more but hone the set-ups on their new 992 generation 911 GT3 Cup car.

With Aaron Love currently abroad contesting Carrera Cup France, the Tyrepower TekworkX Motorsport entry of Max Vidau starts as the form man, having won the opening round at the Australian Grand Prix.

Harri Jones will be another Michelin Junior hoping to take the momentum from his victory in the last race in Melbourne into Round 2, but the Queenslander is likely to face opposition from McElrea Racing teammate, Christian Pancione and the SP Tools Earl Bamber Motorsport entry of Ryan Suhle.

Expect the ever-present David Wall to be another in the hunt for the top of the podium, starting his 67th round in Winton. The 2017 Carrera Cup Champion surpasses Craig Baird for second on all-time starts this weekend.

Wall together with experienced campaigners like Dale Wood, Michael Almond, Dylan O’Keeffe, Luke Youlden and David Russell in the mix, round honours are far from a certainty for anyone in the Pro class. It should make for a riveting spectacle.

In Morris Finance Pro-Am, the battle and competition level will be just as intense. Porsche Cars Australia has implemented a split qualifying session for Winton round, allowing for more indicative, unimpeded lap times for both classes.

Hot off his Bathurst 12Hr Class C win, Geoff Emerywill start as class favourite to take the round, but one cannot ignore the depth of competition in a field consisting of Liam Talbot, Stephen Grove, Dean Cook, Sam Shahin and Adrian Flack. Flack marking his return to Championship after missing Round 1.

Entry List:
# Name Surname Class
4 Stephen Grove Pro-Am Grove Racing
5 Ryan Suhle Pro SP Tools / EBM
6 Angelo Mouzouris Pro Sonic / PitBox
7 Tim Miles Pro-Am Miles Advisory Partners / N2C
8 Nick McBride Pro Porsche Centre Melbourne
9 Marc Cini Pro-Am Hallmarc
11 Jackson Walls Pro Objective Racing
12 Harri Jones Pro Hastings Deering / Mackellar Group
13 Sam Shahin Pro-Am The Bend Motorsport Park / OTR
14 Matthew Belford Pro-Am ID Land
17 Callum Hedge Pro Team Porsche NZ / EBM
20 Adrian Flack Pro-Am AGAS National / EBM
22 Dean Cook Pro-Am Zonzo Racing
25 Michael Almond Pro The PSA Group
27 Liam Talbot Pro-Am Wash It / Paynter Dixon
28 Bayley Hall Pro Printech
38 David Wall Pro Monochrome / Paynter Dixon
45 Duvashen Padayachee Pro Rentcorp Hyundai Forklifts
48 Geoff Emery Pro-Am Force Accessories / MJR
53 Luke Youlden Pro Hire A Hubby / TekworkX
72 Max Vidau Pro Tyrepower / TekworkX
74 David Russell Pro Dayco / EMA Motorsport
76 Christian Pancione Pro VCM Performance / HP Tuners
77 Rodney Jane Pro-Am Bob Jane T Marts /Sonic
86 Drew Hall Pro-Am Wall Racing
88 Dylan O’Keeffe Pro Dexion / RAM Motorsport
100 Dale Wood Pro Timken Racing
101 Tony Quinn Pro-Am Local Legends
222 Scott Taylor Pro-Am Scott Taylor Motorsport
333 Brad Shiels Pro Royal Purple Racing
777 Simon Fallon Pro Bob Jane T Marts / Bremtech

Source. Porsche


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: